Shuming Nie
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA

Professor Nie received his BS degree from Nankai University (China) in 1983, earned his MS and PhD degrees from Northwestern University (1984-1990), and did postdoctoral research at both Georgia Institute of Technology and Stanford University (1990-1994). He is currently the Wallace H. Coulter Distinguished Chair Professor in Biomedical Engineering at Emory University and the Georgia Institute of Technology, with joint appointments in chemistry, materials science and engineering, and hematology and oncology. His research is in the areas of molecular engineering and nanotechnology, with a focus on bioconjugated nanoparticles for cancer molecular imaging, molecular profiling, and targeted therapy. His major academic achievements include the discovery of colloidal metal nanoparticles that are able to amplify the efficiencies of surface-enhanced Raman scattering (SERS) by 14-15 orders of magnitude, his pioneering work on water-soluble semiconductor quantum dots, and his breakthrough work in developing multifunctional smart nanoparticles for integrated biomedical imaging and therapy, including image-guided cancer surgery. Professor Nie has published over 290 papers, patents, and book chapters, and his scholarly work has been cited more than 35,000 times.

Professor Nie has received many awards and honors including a Special Achievement Award in Nanomedicine from Nature (2012), Fellow of the AAAS (American Association for the Advancement of Science), “Deal of the Year” Award in Technology Licensing (Emory University, 2012), the NIH Director’s Transformative Research Award (2011), “Innovation of the Year” Award (Emory University, 2010), the “MilliPub” Award (for 4 publications with more than 1000 citations each) (2010), the Merck Award in Analytical Chemistry (2007), the Georgia Cancer Coalition (GCC) Special Achievement Award (2007), Elected Fellow of the American Institute of Biological and Medical Engineering (2006), the Cheung Kong Professorship (The Ministry of Education of China, 2006), the Rank Prize in Opto-electronics (London, UK, 2005), the Georgia Distinguished Cancer Scholar Award (Georgia Cancer Coalition, 2002-2007), the Beckman Young Investigator Award, the National Collegiate Inventors Award, and the NSFC Overseas Young Scholar Award.