Johnna S. Temenoff
Georgia Institute of Technology and Emory University, USA

Dr. Johnna Temenoff completed her Ph.D. and post-doctoral fellowship at Rice University. In 2005, she joined the Coulter Department of Biomedical Engineering at Georgia Tech/Emory University, where she is now the Carol Ann and David D. Flanagan Professor. Dr. Temenoff served as Associate Chair for Translational Research in the Coulter Department from 2019-2022. Scientifically, Dr. Temenoff develops new biomaterials for use in cell manufacturing and regenerative medicine applications. Her laboratory focuses on promoting repair after injuries to cartilage, tendon and muscle.

Dr. Temenoff is also currently the Deputy Director of a NSF Engineering Research Center in Cell Manufacturing Technologies (CMaT). With its successful renewal this year, this is now a $40 Million center, headed at Georgia Tech, that spans 8+ research institutions throughout the U.S., with over 200 researchers. In addition, she has been awarded numerous grants from the National Institutes of Health, totaling over $6M, has filed 2 patents, has published over 70 scientific articles/book chapters, and is the co-author on over 200 presentations.

Over the course of her career, Dr. Temenoff has received the NSF CAREER Award and was named to the College of Fellows of the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineers (AIMBE), as a Fellow of the Biomedical Engineering Society (BMES) and as a Fellow of Biomaterials Science and Engineering, International Union of Societies for Biomaterials Science and Engineering (IUSBSE). She was awarded the Education Award from TERMIS-NA in 2016, in part because she has demonstrated her commitment to undergraduate biomaterials education by co-authoring a highly successful introductory textbook – Biomaterials: The Intersection of Biology and Materials Science, by J.S. Temenoff and A.G. Mikos (now in a 2nd edition), for which Dr. Temenoff and Dr. Mikos were awarded the American Society for Engineering Education’s Meriam/Wiley Distinguished Author Award for best new engineering textbook.