Dov Jaron
Drexel University, USA

Dov Jaron is Calhoun Distinguished Professor of Engineering in Medicine, School of Biomedical Engineering, Science and Health Systems, and Professor of Electrical Engineering, Drexel University. He received his Ph.D. degree in Biomedical Engineering from the University of Pennsylvania in 1967. From 1967 to 1971 he was Senior Research Associate and later Director of Surgical Research at Maimonides Medical Center in New York. From 1971 to 1973 he was Director of Surgical Research at Sinai Hospital of Detroit. In 1973 Dr. Jaron joined the Electrical Engineering department at the University of Rhode Island and became its Coordinator of Biomedical Engineering. He served as Director of the Biomedical Engineering and Science Institute at Drexel University from 1980 to 1996. From 1991 to 1993 he was on an assignment to NSF, where he was Director of the Division of Biological and Critical Systems, Engineering Directorate. From 1996 to 1998 he was on leave at the NIH as Associate Director, National Center for Research Resources and Director of Biomedical Technology.

Dr. Jaron led the engineering team that developed the first successful in-series cardiac assist device, the intraaortic balloon pump (IABP). Currently, the IABP is used world wide to support patients‘ failing circulation. His research to develop models of cardiovascular dynamics was critical to understanding the interaction of cardiac assist devices with the circulation and optimizing their effectiveness. More recently, Dr. Jaron’s research has focused on elucidating specific complex mechanisms of the microcirculation by creating models that integrate biochemical and mechanical interactions in the system at different hierarchical levels. This research is aimed at providing an insight into the pathogenesis of microvascular dysfunction diseases. Currently, it is focused on mechanisms of production and transport of Nitric Oxide in the microcirculation.

Dr. Jaron has made major contributions to the development of the biomedical engineering profession through his extensive professional activities and government service. At NSF he led in the creation of a new Division of Bioengineering and Environmental Systems. At NIH he was a major driving force within the Bioengineering Consortium (BECON). His many efforts at the agency culminated in the trans-NIH symposium titled: “Bioengineering: Building The Future of Biology and Medicine” which he co-chaired. The symposium was hailed by the engineering research community and by the NIH as a watershed for the agency and helped to affirm the critical role of engineering to the solution of research problems in biomedicine. It was critical to the establishment of the NIH Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering.

In 1986 and 1987 he served as President of the IEEE Engineering in Medicine and Biology Society. He was President of the IFMBE from 2000 to 2003. In 2003 he became Vice President of the International Union of Physical and Engineering Sciences in Medicine (IUPESM). Dr. Jaron was Chair of the IEEE Awards Board for three consecutive years from 2004-2007, overseeing and managing the awards program for the largest professional organization in the world. He has been Chair of the Scientific Council for the International Center of Biocybernetics, Polish Academy of Sciences since 2002. He co-directed an initiative on Science for Health and Well Being (SHWB) in which 12 Unions of ICSU (The International Council for Science) have participated. This initiative led to a new ICSU program on Systems Analysis Approach to Health and Well Being in the Urban Environment. In 2008 he was elected to the Executive Board of ICSU.

Dr. Jaron is a Fellow of the IEEE, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the Academy of Surgical Research, the American Institute of Medical and Biological Engineering, the Biomedical Engineering Society, the World Academy of Biomedical Technology, and the International Academy for Medical and Biological Engineering. He received the Merit Award from the International Union for Physical and Engineering Sciences in Medicine (IUPESM). In 2009 he was elected as a foreign member of the Polish Academy of Sciences.